Skip to content

The Great Debate: *NSync vs Backstreet Boys

October 18, 2010

The Real Knox posted a few weeks ago defending his side of the all too important and all too forgotten *NSync vs Backstreet Boys Debate. Or as I like like to refer to it, The Greatest Decision You’ll Ever Make In Your Life.* I may be a little late to the game, but at least I’m on Jordan’s team. For Knox’s pre-rebuttal, click this.

I know statistically, BSB has like 3 CDs that have made the Billboard top 50 and NSync has less than one, but this is not a debate on who is more successful as a group, nay, it is a debate on who is better as in the world. 

Point A) Who gets more play?

Hey, remember every single junior high and high school dance you’ve ever been to? What song did they play when the dance was over, oh, and little number that rhymes with “Dry, dry, dry”. You know the one. BSB might have gotten an all you people can’t you see can’t you see, how your love’s affecting our reality shoutout, but probably not (unless your dance involved flying with Back to the Future hoverboards in front of a crappy green screen.**)

NSync’s songs reverberated in our brainal lobe until they effected your soul. If you can listen to “Tearin Up my Heart” and not gently yet rhythmically  place your hand on your heart while simultaneously side moving by pressing your foot up and down, then you’re a robot and I don’t want to know your face.

Also, how many CDs did Backstreet Boys have? Answer: 7. NSync must have had at least 20 to a million to compete with th…oh yeah, 3. They did in 3 CDs what BSB is still trying to imitate. Accept no imitation.

Point B) Who ended racism?

NSync. Boom goes the dynamite. How? Oh, sweet simple (place your name here). Which of the 2 contestants did a group collaboration with one the most popular band-aid on face rappers of the time? That’d be the N to the S to the y to the nc.

Need more proof?

In my project and/or central Arkansas. They had one true hip-hop station, entitled Power 92 Jams. This station was legit, I mean the kinda stuff you have to buy from a dude in the Best Buy parking lot driving a car that’s on the cover*** They were so realzie they wouldn’t even play Eminem unless it was with his D12 crew. But to my surprise, what did my wandering ears should they hear? But a beautiful tune of “Gone”, with a tear.

They transcended the barriers like a combination of MLKjr and Aerosmith. Tear down this wall, Mr. Gorbachev.

Point C) Justin Timberlake?

The greatest thing to be birthed of the NSync union, is the creation of this modern day Renaissance Man.****

But BSB is still together and NSync broke up? I knew you’d think that you fancy tabled shenaniganhead. Let me hit you with a quote:

The measure of greatness within a group can only be counted worthy if the individual members can go on and create greatness on their own. Most applicable with government and boy bands. -Benjamin Franklin

Here is, to my best memory, without cheating or looking in the past 10 years, the members of the two groups:

NSync: Justin Timberlake, JC Chavez (spelling impossible), Lance Bass, the fat one, and probably a Spanish one.

Crapstreet Boyz: Nick Carter, Brian, a white guy, a white guy, and probably a Spanish one.

That’s 3 – 2.

NSync wins.

Who was your favorite?

Wrong, the correct answer was NSync. Seriously, I just told you.

___________________________________

*Yeah, I capitalized every single word. Not grammatically correct? Well, let me answer your question with another question…Yes.

**If you get this reference, then you can adequately participate in the debate and are probably got made fun of in high school.

***Platinum Boyz, where they told us to “rep our city” and then repeated Arkansas several times, which is not a city. I have 2 copies. True Story.

**** Definitely not the Danny Devito version. Was this reference necessary?*****

*****Yes.

3 Comments leave one →
  1. October 18, 2010 11:53 am

    I was hoping you wouldn’t find that Ben Franklin quote. Rep yo forefather.

    • October 18, 2010 1:40 pm

      Dude, finally someone who gets it! Has no one seen the MTV Cribs episode at Joey FatOne’s house? You don’t own a super sweet mansion with the volcano pool unless you were in the best boy band of the millenia.

      I truthfully think that this debate can be solved with one little test. I’m going to name off the top 5 NSync songs and the top 5 Backstreet Boys songs. Once you read the title you will either be able to instantly recall the chorus/melody of the song or you won’t. Whoever has the most wins. Here we go:

      Backstreet Boys:
      I Want It That Way Ok, I admit I know this one.
      Show Me the Meaning Um, I’m 50% on this one, I think.
      As Long as you Love Me Seriously no clue on this one.
      Everybody Ok, I got this one too. Barely
      Quit Playing Games I feel like I should know this one but I can’t form
      the melody in my head.

      *NSync:
      It’s Gonna Be Me Number 1 in your hearts, and #1 on the Billboard
      charts for 52 weeks.
      Bye Bye Bye EVERYONE has done the stupid hand motion to this
      Tearin Up My Heart This is tearin’ up my heart a littel right now
      Gone Who can forget JT’s amazing falsetto on this one
      This I Promise You Easy Peasy Lemon Squeezy, even for a 32 yr old
      dude.

      If that simple test didn’t seal the deal that *NSync is clearly the best boy band of the last 20 yrs, I don’t know what will. Now we need to debate the *NSync vs NKOTB. Two different eras but yet cult like following teen girls and similarly ridiculously catchy poppy music.

  2. Wendy permalink
    October 18, 2010 5:56 pm

    Neither. Hanson. They played their OWN instruments and wrote their OWN songs. They were the early Beatles to the stupid Boy Bands’ Monkees.

Leave a Reply

